Failing to meal prep.


It has been said that, the fitness journey must start in the kitchen before you sign up to a gym. With that said, I sure did start out in the kitchen but not for fitness purposes. 

You might think that being a chef would be easy for me to meal prep. No, I mean I did do well for around 6 weeks of meal prepping, but after that it has been on and off. I’m still going to the gym 4 times a week, but my food intake has not been as good as my workout commitments.

I continue to hit a plateau and change my workout plans. Then see a change with my physic and then the same happens again. The physical change to my body has been noted but it seems to be a slow gradual shift. I need to burn more calories, eat more correctly and be able to stick to it for longer than 6 weeks.

When I was meal prepping I did it on the weekends, mainly on a Sunday night and Monday mornings before starting work in the afternoon. I would always cook lean highly rich proteins like, Turkey, Beef, Chicken breast, Mackerel, Salmon and Tuna. I would always have at least 100-150g of protein, 100g of wholegrain carbs and 100g steamed, roasted or stir fried vegetables ( if I did not have enough carbs then I would bulk up the meal with more veg)

I would make around 8-10 meals for the week and have protein shakes at least twice a day eating 4-6 times a day including shakes. 

A typical meal planned structure for me was like this:
Morning 7:00am (before leaving for work)

1 medium sized Banana

9-9:30am

Phd Diet whey protein shake (bought from Discount-supplements.co.uk)

11am

5 scrambbled eggs (3 whole, 2 white) with avocado and red chilies

13:00-13:30

Minced Turkey Bolognese, wholegrain spaghetti, boiled mixed veggies and half a sweet potato.

15:00-16:30

Workout

17:00

Phd Diet whey protein shake (might add in an apple or banana to help me stay fuller for longer)

19:30-20:00

Minced Turkey Bolognese, wholegrain spaghetti, boiled mixed veggies and half a sweet potato.

22:30-23;00 (arriving home after work if hungry)

100g low fat cottage cheese with cinnamon

When I was doing this I felt at my best I had more energy than ever plus, my focus was on point. I know meal prepping is at least 70-80% off the fitness journey and I need to get back to doing it, and being more strict with my eating habits.

Any advice regarding meal prepping and how to stick with it would be much appriciated.

 

 

 

